Drought relief funds for Centex counties available

WASHINGTON, DC - Even though there has been rain in the area in recent weeks, the time prior was in fact very dry, causing some losses to farmers and ranchers for the region.

The U-S Department of Agriculture has designated Bosque, Falls, McLennan  and Williamson counties as primary natural disaster areas due to losses and damages caused by that drought period.

Farmers and ranchers in adjacent counties to those primary counties also will qualify for natural disaster assistance.

Those counties in our immediate area include Bell, Coryell, Hamilton, Hill, Limestone, Milam and Robertson counties.

Qualified farm operators in the designated areas are eligible for the Farm Service Agency's emergency loans provided other eligibility requirements are met.

Farmers in these areas have eight months from the declaration date of March 30,2018, to apply for loans to help cover part of their actual losses. FSA will consider each loan application on its own merits, taking into account the extent of losses, security available, and repayment ability.


FSA has a variety of programs, in addition to the EM loan program, to help eligible farmers recover from the impacts of this disaster.


Interested farmers may contact their local USDA service centers for further information on eligibility requirements and application procedures for these and other programs. Additional information is also available here

More Stories

Trending Stories

Latest News