Baylor Women’s Tennis Set for Big 12 Championships


Baylor Press Release:

IRVING, Texas – The 25th-ranked Baylor women’s tennis team enters the 2018 Big 12 Tennis Championships as the No. 5 seed, as announced by the league office. The event, hosted at Texas Tennis Center in Austin, Texas, by the Longhorns, runs from April 25-28.

The Bears kick off postseason action with a quarterfinal dual match against No. 4 seed Kansas on Friday, April 26. First serve is set for 9 a.m. (CT). With a win, Baylor would advance to the semifinal round on Saturday, April 27 at 3 p.m.

Baylor leads Kansas, 22-7, in the all-time series. The teams met once in the regular season, with the Jayhawks topping the Bears, 4-1, in Lawrence, Kan.

The Bears concluded the regular season with a 16-12 mark overall and a 4-5 record in Big 12 action against a strong schedule, which included 16 dual matches against ranked foes. Sixteenth-year head coach Joey Scrivano has guided the Bears to eight Big 12 Championship crowns in his tenure in addition to 11 regular season conference titles.

2018 Big 12 Women’s Championship Schedule

Thursday, April 25

10 a.m.   No. 8 TCU vs. No. 9 West Virginia

10 a.m.   No. 7 Oklahoma vs. No. 10 Iowa State

Friday, April 26

9 a.m.    No. 4 Kansas vs. No. 5 Baylor

Noon     No. 1 Texas vs. No. 8 TCU/No. 9 West Virginia

3 p.m.    No. 2 Oklahoma State vs. No. 7 Oklahoma/No. 10 Iowa State

3 p.m.    No. 3 Texas Tech vs. No. 6 K-State

Saturday, April 27

3 p.m.    Winner of Match 4 vs. Winner of Match 3

3 p.m.    Winner of Match 5 vs. Winner of Match 6

Sunday, April 28

1 p.m.     Championship Match

Copyright 2019 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Upcoming Events

90210 Countdown Clock

Enter to Win our Contests

More Contests